Dinner

Tonight we tried a totally new food: tomatillos. According to wikipedia, they are related to tomatoes, and have a tart taste. One medium has 11 calories, yet it packs 91 mg. of potassium. That same little fruit contains 4 mg. of vitamin C, 2.4 mg of calcium, 2.38 mg. of folic acid, and 39 IU of vitamin A.. Pretty amazing.

What I made was a tomatillo sauce, making up my own recipe based on one from Cooks.com. I sauteed about half a cup of white onion with two cloves of minced garlic in about a fourth teaspoon of olive oil. Then I added 4 medium diced tomatillos, and pureed in my food processor. I put the mix back into a sauce pan, added some salt(about a 1/8 tsp. and hot sauce to taste, and simmered for about half an hour.

I served the sauce over porkchops that I baked (no oil, just nonstick cooking spray) alongside some sliced mushrooms. I love pork cooked this simple way, with nothing but some salt and black pepper, at 350 for 20 minutes. The result:

So good! The sauce was the perfect amount of sour and sweet – just great!

Do you eat tomatillos? How do you use them?

Leave a Reply

